The nominees for the Buma Awards Music in Media 2020 were announced today. Based on nine different categories, the 25-member jury has looked at the best music for film, television, radio, documentary and advertising, with three nominations for each category. In addition, new talent will be under the spotlight through the presentation of the Buma Music in Motion New Talent Award. All winners will be announced on Tuesday, 19 May.

 The Buma Awards Music in Media are traditionally presented during the annual Buma Music in Motion event, however, due to the global coronavirus crisis, the Buma Cultuur-organised event will not take place in 2020. That did not, however, stop the jury from looking for the most talented and effective composers of music in media.


Two categories – Best Original Composition in Advertising and Best Sync in Advertising – are presented in collaboration with Adformatie, with nominees including Sizzer & DeWolff, who have been chosen for ‘Live Like You’ for Skoda, a song that has also recently been released as a single. In the Sync in Advertising category, Afrojack, a.k.a. Nick van de Wall, has been nominated for his part in Run the World (Girls) for DNB’s Girls Invest campaign.

The nominated composers and producers were selected by a 25-member jury of industry experts including composer Bob Zimmerman, Buma Oeuvre Award Multimedia winner Stephen Emmer, producer Kaja Wolffers, director Jon Karthaus, composer Martijn Schimmer, NRC journalist Joyce Roodnat, editor-in-chief of Adformatie Susanne van Nierop, and last year’s BMIM New Talent winner, Gijs Knol.

This year’s nominees of the Buma Awards Music in Media Categories are:

1. Buma Award Best Podcast, Radio and Television Imaging (5 May)

  • Ward Henselmans, Daan Jansen and Jeroen Kuitenbrouwer 
  • Close Up – 25 jaar
  • link
  • Publisher: AVRO Muziekuitgeverij


  • Ad van Dongen
  • Discovery Channel ‘Wanted’ brand movie
  • link
  • Publisher: Copyright Power International


  • Guido Heeneman
  • Diederik en Da Vinci
  • link
  • Publisher: AVRO TROS en SkyHigh TV


2. Buma Award Best Original Composition in Advertising (powered by Adformatie) (6 May)


  • Sizzer & DeWolff
  • Skoda – Live Like You
  • link
  • Advertising Agency: Optimist


  • Jesse Koolhaas
  • Fashion’s Dirty Little Secret
  • link
  • Advertising Agency: The Ridley Scott Creative Group


  • Merlijn Snitker
  • Ace & Tate – Take Another Look
  • link
  • Advertising Agency: Halal


3. Buma Award Best Sync in Advertising (powered by Adformatie) (7 May)


  • Nick van de Wall (Afrojack) (and Beyoncé Knowles, Terius Nash, Adidja Palmer, Wesley Pentz, David Taylor)
  • DNB – Girls Invest – ‘Run the World (Girls)’
  • link
  • Sync Agent: Bente de Jong
  • Publisher: BMG, Warner Chappell, Sony ATV, CTM, Kobalt
  • Advertising Agency: TRY


  • Thomas Azier, Martin Gjerstad and Anouk Teeuwe
  • DM Drogisterij – Die Veränderung beginnt in mir – ‘It’s A New Day’
  • link
  • Sync Agent: Bente de Jong
  • Publisher: BMG, Kobalt
  • Advertising Agency: ela productions GmbH


  • Stephanie Allen, Reynard Bargmann (Mucky), Richard Cowie, Idris Elba, Thomas Mackenzie Bell, Sean Paul
  • Sainsbury’s Tu – Summer Of Love – ‘Boasty’
  • link
  • Sync Agent: Justin Hendrik
  • Publisher: Maktub Music Publishing


4. BMIM New Talent Award (8 May)

  • Daan Hofman
  • Danny and the Wild Bunch
  • link


  • Componist Thomas van der Burg
  • Ridder Marie


  • Componist Annelotte Coster
  • Als Je Later Groot Bent


5. Buma Award Best Original Composition in Documentary, Short Film, Telefilm and Animation (11 May)


  • Alex Simu 
  • They Call Me Babu
  • Director: Sandra Beerends
  • Production: Pieter van Huystee Film & TV


  • Paul M. van Brugge
  • A Fool’s Paradise
  • Director: Saskia Vredeveld
  • Production: Pieter van Huystee Film & TV


  • Ward Henselmans, Daan Jansen en Jeroen Kuitenbrouwer
  • Stuk
  • link
  • Director: Jurjen Blick
  • Production: VPRO


6. Buma Award Best Original Composition in Television Series (12 May)


  • Merlijn Snitker
  • De 12 van Schouwendam
  • link
  • Director: Anne van der Linden en André van Duren
  • Production: Endemol Shine


  • Tim van Berkestijn
  • Hoofdzaken
  • link
  • Director: Menno Otten
  • Production: Kepler Films
  • Producer: Derk-Jan Warrink, Koji Nelissen


  • Joris Oonk en Jef Richaerts
  • Baantjer: Het Begin
  • Director: Arne Toonen
  • Production: Millstreet Films
  • Producer: Rachel van Bommel
  • Publisher: Millstreet Music


7. Buma Award Best Sync (in Television, Film, Online) (13 May)


  • Ramses Shaffy (arranger Maaike Ouboter)
  • Netflix promo voor serie “Our Planet” – ‘Zing – Vecht – Huil – Bid – Lach – Werk en Bewonder’
  • link
  • Sync Agent: AMP
  • Publisher: Strengholt Music Publishing


  • Joep le Blanc and Rob Jager
  • 8×4 – ‘GRLS’
  • link
  • Sync Agent: 2weimusic
  • Publisher: Felt Music UK


  • Giovanni Rustenberg (Cho), Tevin Irvin Plaate (Spanker)
  • Savage x Fenty – ‘Popalik’
  • link
  • Sync Agent: Bente de Jong


8. Buma Award Best Original Composition in Trailers (14 May)


  • Reinder van Zalk
  • Terreur
  • Publisher: Earforce


  • Joep Sporck
  • Tales of Arise
  • link
  • Publisher: Elsy Music – Liquid Cinema


  • Jochem Weierink
  • The Oscars Opening Trailer 2019
  • link
  • Publisher: Liquid Cinema


9. Buma Award Best Original Composition in Film (15 May)


  • Vincent van Warmerdam
  • ROJO
  • Director: Benjamín Naishtat
  • Production: Bord Cadre Films, Descia Produções, Ecce Films


  • Rutger Reinders
  • Dirty God
  • Director: Sacha Polak
  • Production: Marleen Slot Viking Film


  • Ella van der Woude
  • Take Me Somewhere Nice
  • Director: Ena Sendijarevic
  • Production: Pupkin Film